Ford Fusion V6 Sport Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my first Direct Injection engine and ive heard the stories of intake valve carbon build up for years. Since I got a brand new engine I would like to try and avoid ever having to deal with that so im thinking of buying an oil catch can. However I have no experience with oil catch cans. They seem simple enough to install, how often do you need to empty them? Whats a good price to pay for one? Ive seen some as low as 20 dollars as others as high as 400 dollars. If anyone has installed one already, got any pictures or where or how you mounted it in the engine bay?

·
Registered
81 Posts
There's already catch cans designed for the 2.0, for instance, at the least the '13-'16. I realize the hoses may be a different length and/or the adapter plate might not line up. I'm sure there will be a custom Sport compatible catch can available very soon.

Boomba's may work for instance or they'll have one for it, I'm assuming. Boomba Fusion/MKZ 2.0 Ecoboost Stage 2 Oil Catch Can Kit

·
Registered
331 Posts
Just bought my Mobile 1 and motorcraft filter yesterday. All set to change it in about 40ish miles when it hits 1k.
Is the suggested first maintenance 1k? I looked at the service interval reminders on the FordPass app, and everything showed 10k mile intervals.

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
Is the suggested first maintenance 1k? I looked at the service interval reminders on the FordPass app, and everything showed 10k mile intervals.
Some people like to hit an oil change at around 1000 miles because during the break in period you can get metal shavings in the oil. So people will change it to get that out, and get fresh oil in and then go to the normal intervals.

·
Premium Member
800 Posts