Ford Fusion V6 Sport Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I’m new to the Fusion Sport but not to the EB. Previously had a 2015 SHO with PP however, it met an unfortunate demise at about 95K miles as documented in my post on the SHO forum:

So I was suddenly in the market for a replacement. My primary factors were that it be an “unusual” sport sedan with AWD that an adult would drive as I live in WI and it would be a DD, even in winter. I’m 72 so no ricer cars either. Nothing German as I didn’t want to “total out” the car for an oil change (slight exaggeration). I considered:

1). Another SHO, but no CPO (gold) with PP anywhere in the US. Found a 2018 with gold CPO but no PP in MI with 24K miles for $36K. Blue color which I like. But wife didn[t want to go that far to buy a car.

2. Kia Stinger GT2 AWD. Could not get myself up to purchasing a $40K+ used Kia. Probably would have had to debadge it so I could look at it each day. Also would be a “ricer” but large enough to be more adult. They have a CPO warranty that is similar to Ford’s.

3. Alfa Romeo Giulia Ti Sport AWD. I’m an Alfisti (Alfa fan), so was really interested in this. Yes, parts probably match German prices, but Alfa has the best CPO warranty. Its 5 years or 100K miles that covers over 5000 parts AFTER the original warranty expires, which is 4 years or 50K miles with no deductible. Also very few available in the entire US and all were far away (east coast, south, west coast). So like the SHO, wife vetoed. Prices ranged from about 35 to 45K depending upon year and miles. I did scratch my Alfa itch by purchasing a 1994 Spider with 72K miles that spent it’s entire life in Hawaii and CA, so should be pretty rust free on eBay for $7200 (about half the normal going price).