Ford Fusion V6 Sport Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally decided to get off my can and get this done.
I've been running this setup on my 04 SRT-4 for 12 years now with zero issues.
This really helps with Intercooler heat soak if your drag racing , and cools the engine/compartment.
You'll basically need a chunk of wire to run from the fuse box in the engine compartment to the cabin, a 2 pole switch, a couple of wire connectors to attach to the switch and a way to mount the switch.
This is roughly installed on my car, I'm going to order a new switch
that doesn't stick out and mount it somewhere under the dash and run the wire through the firewall, right now it's run through the fender and through the door opening.

Locate one of the fan relays in the engine compartment, fan relay #1 is the passenger side and located in slot #32, fan relay #2 is the drivers side and located in slot #38
I was running fan #2 for a few days and got greedy and tapped both relays to see the effect. I don't think it's necessary to run both fans, they suck enough air that you'll have to be careful with young children and small pets.
First run the wire through the place of your choice in the firewall
to the engine fuse box.
Strip back enough wire to shove in the slot pictured and replace the relay
Hook the wire to one side of the switch.
With a second piece of wire run from the other side of the switch to a ground.
Mount the switch and you're all finished.
(Currently I've temporarily zip tied the switch to the OBD connector.)
This mod works with the engine running or just the accessories on.
I have about a 3 minute drive to my house,(35 mph) after I exit the highway and I always flip the switch on the exit ramp.
Obviously I never run the fans on when I'm driving over 35 MPH.
When you turn off the car with the switch on the fans will continue to run for a few seconds until the car shuts down.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,253 Posts