Ford Fusion V6 Sport Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw on a Mustang forum a reference to launching in 2nd gear. Interesting? So I was reading the manual for the Fusion Sport and found a reference on page 166 about low traction starts and that the Sport can start in 2nd gear.

My Sport is too new to push it real hard but I did tried this. Pretty Interesting. 0-60 with only one shift point. (2nd to 3rd)

Full Stop, Hold brake.
Traction Control Off (not sure if it makes a difference).
Sport mode on.
While stopped use the paddle shifter to select 2nd gear. (Displays 2).
Roll on the power, at 2k RPM let go the brakes and keep adding power. (I did not hold the brakes in my test.)
Just keep rolling on the power, at 6k RPM it will shift to 3rd. I’m not sure if using a paddle to change from 2nd to 3rd sooner would help.

This method felt like the car pulled harder but I am new to the car so I really don’t know. I have not read about anyone trying this or the results. I’m sure someone can perfect this method. If you have a good butt dyno, give it a try and see if you feel a difference?
-Lee

·
Registered
868 Posts
Hmm. Interesting. Be curious to see this done. I have about 3,000 miles on the odo, so I might give it a go sometime if I think about it.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Interesting. Are you sure it started in 2? Often paddle shifters in various cars will indicate the selected gear but the transmission starts from 1 and works its way up, especially from a top. Watch the tach and listen to it - see if it's actually starting there.

·
Registered
142 Posts
I haven't launched, but I know it can start in 2. I've been at lights and put it in 2 and it's definitely a different feel from starting in 1. I have no doubt that you can do it.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts