Ford Fusion V6 Sport Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sooo... from a stop no power braking front wheels will spin, minor torque steer, a little delay and then rear kinda start to help. Even spins from a slow roll (15mph) then rear kinda catches up. With power brake and traction controll off. It seemed like fwd, although i only did it for a second, didnt wanna scatter fusion parts in front of my house. Is this NORMAL for these cars? Mine has less then 2k miles so im still learning what normal is...

Thanks!

·
Registered
206 Posts
That doesn't sound quite "normal" to me.

Even with traction control off, a straight line, unbraked launch doesn't have any wheelspin. Under some conditions, the does seem to be a slight delay in transferring torque to the rear wheel(s) compared to what I would like.

Now, some of our tuned guys see some wheelspin on braked launches on the track, but I'm not there (yet).

I'd suggest watching your intelligent AWD gauge. It's interesting seeing what condition cause it to start including the rear wheels.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Even without a tune our car would have some wheel spin (more of a chirp) if you went WOT but went straight - with a tune on A/S tires is of course worse - that is why we put on some Comp Summer tires - Another rain out at the track last night so looks like next week to really test the tires

·
Registered
246 Posts
I've had the front tires squeal and torque steer a little on just a couple occasions, when accelerating out of a corner, never going straight tho. I've watched the AWD monitor for my entire commute on a couple occasions and it seems like its engaged every time I pull away from a stop, regardless of the throttle input, then goes FWD once it reaches cruising speed.

Have a look at your AWD monitor and see what it says its doing, because what you're describing doesn't sound normal at all, at least not based on my driving experiences.

·
Registered
293 Posts