Ford Fusion V6 Sport Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A local place said they would tune my 17 awd FFS for 895? Is this a fair price or a rip off? Im a complete car noob btw.

·
Super Moderator
1,236 Posts
Lots of questions for this but if it a custom dyno tune then I wouldn't say it is a rip off. If it isn't then yes as you can get a solid tune from several vendors with the programmer for less than $500. Also do they have a working knowledge of Ecoboost tuning? If not you could be headed into rough territory...

Reactions: MY27FUSION

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Lots of questions for this but if it a custom dyno tune then I wouldn't say it is a rip off. If it isn't then yes as you can get a solid tune from several vendors with the programmer for less than $500. Also do they have a working knowledge of Ecoboost tuning? If not you could be headed into rough territory...
yes they said it would be a custom dyno, this would be their first ever FFS to tune. But they have a lot of experience in ecoboost. Does it matter that they never worked on FFS before. They work on F-150s and to my knowledge its the same engine.

·
Super Moderator
1,236 Posts
It is the same engine but EcoBoost is a different animal and not just anybody can do it correctly. You doing a 93 or E30 tune?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I believe its a 93 tune. I need to double check that, but I think its a 93 because the guy said I would have to put 93 octane in after the tune (which I already do).

·
Registered
61 Posts
Totally agree, the known ecoboost tuners have spent 100s of hours figuring out what to tweak and work around problems.
It is the same engine but EcoBoost is a different animal and not just anybody can do it correctly. You doing a 93 or E30 tune?

·
Super Moderator
1,236 Posts