Ford Fusion V6 Sport Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I detailed my engine bay. I used Chemical Guys Nonsense all purpose cleaner, Chemical guys Silk Shine Dressing, and compressed air to get the job done.

I need to get one of those steel plates with the build date...

Attachments

·
Registered
150 Posts
It wasn't terribly dirty to start with, which is why I went with Nonsense. I have a pressure washer and Chemical Guys All Clean for when it gets really dirty. If I let it get dirty, that is.

·
Registered
63 Posts
I'm a noob when it comes to detailing the engine bay. What is the process typically? Outside of covering the electrical components what kind of prep is involved? I picked up a substantial amount of dust from my uncles driveway and I want to clean it up.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I'm a noob when it comes to detailing the engine bay. What is the process typically? Outside of covering the electrical components what kind of prep is involved? I picked up a substantial amount of dust from my uncles driveway and I want to clean it up.
I was able to clean my engine bay without the use of a pressure washer for this round. As far a prep work, all that was needed was popping the hood. I was careful about where I sprayed the cleaner and dressing, and used a microfiber cloth to wipe down any area that needed attention.

As far as using water from some source, I haven't done it on this vehicle yet, so I can't say for sure, but I have done it on other vehicles and have never had a problem.